Career/Life Question (CFA,etc.)

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by NBPR6, Feb 17, 2009.

1. NBPR6

NBPR6

I've been a prop trader for almost the last 2 years, and man has it been a crazy ride of highs and lows. However, I think I've reached a point where I need to make some decisions.

I won't say that I've been the best trader. I also won't say that I've been the worst, but I'm good enough to know where I stand and understand what it takes to continue down this road. Unfortunately, this path is starting to look hazy.

I love everything about trading, I love doing the research, I love the mentality you need to succeed, the entrepreneurship, everything. However, I do know that I have risk management issues that can make or break me, and I don't know if it is something that I can fully overcome.

I can't see myself doing anything else but trade, but there must be opportunities out there that support it or have similar aspects. However, from the research that I've done regarding a CFA I've seemed to have confused myself even more.

I don't mind the commitment needed for the CFA, but I'd like to know that the commitment is worth something. I've done a search and most of the CFA threads are dated 2 years ago.

What are some opportunities available for someone who has completed level 1? I guess what I'm trying to ask is what are some keyword/titles that I should be searching for with a CFA that is related to trading(I know there are equity research/analyst positions and portfolio management, but is there anything else).

Also, there are mixed reviews of the value of a CFA. Half the people find it to be a prestigious worthwhile designation while the other half appears to have a worthless view of it. Obviously it depends on what you want to do, but how is it as a supplement to a BA degree from a respectable state school (just not top tier).