Career Decisions

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by Don't Pass Bet, Nov 30, 2007.

1. Hello all,

I hope this thread is not too repetitive as I have seen many posted on similar topics. I was hoping to get a fresh perspective tailored to my situation which is not entirely unique.

I am currently a Junior in college and I have come to a point where I need to seriously weigh my options as far as career paths. As a student, I have admittedly distinctly average credentials and attend a pretty good midwestern university.

Most of my life I have aspired to be a trader and grew up idolizing my father who traded Eurodollars as a local at the Merc. As I have grown older I have seen the trading landscape change from open outcry to the computer screen. This change has essentially eliminated my opportunity of being "given a job" clerking in the pits in the hopes of becoming a successful trader.

Like all graduates, I would like to embark upon a career with great income potential and relative security. I am more than willing to sacrifice both in order to establish myself as a career trader. I am very aware that my chances at being hired at an upper-tier trading firm are very slim. This does not mean I will not try, but that I have realistic expectations.

I am very solidified in my aspirations of becoming a successful trader and I am willing to make any and all sacrifices necessary to make this happen. I'll work late hours, toil with meaningless work to get an in, etc. I am humble in my status and well-aware that I have an infinite amount to learn about the markets and how to become a profitable speculator.

What would you recommend I consider as a course of action after graduation?

I thank you sincerely for any input offered.

Sorry for the long post!

2. I recommend a career in journalism to better utilize your penchant for the written word!:)

3. As you correctly noted, the job of "trader" has evolved and disppeared in some cases.

You basically have 2 choice: