Career Advice

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by NJ1000, Jul 7, 2003.

1. NJ1000

NJ1000

I am a 24 year old who is currently working in a back office position at one of the largest investment banks in the world. I am making approx. 55-60k a year, but am not happy with what I am currently doing and see little upside in my career by staying where I am at. I would like to get into prop trading but don't know where to go or what to look for in a firm. I graduated with a 3.5 GPA from a above average university. I have a series 7 and 63. Can anyone give me some advice- if prop trading would be a good and possible profitable field for me to pursue (I am a very hard worker) in this stage of my life and if so, what places would you recomend I look to go.

2. Well...It looks like all that hard work and studying at the university paid off....Your parents must be so proud

3. AbbyNormal

06-23-03 08:39 PM
    Hi Guys..Im new to this board and recently graduated with a Ph.D. in nuclear fission from Harvard. While in school , I traded remotely to try and earn extra money. I didn't make a ton of money, only around 200K per year....Now that Im graduated, Im thinking of trading full time because there really is no work for my chosen degree....Does anybody know where a young and up and coming guy like me can get a decent deal? Im not a big trader, I only trade about 3 million shares or so a month...Im looking for atmosphere more then anything else. Commissions are not that important because I already have an extremely low commission rate of around 1.7 cents per share ( and they only charge me 1.0 per share for Island)...I definitely want to trade for a firm that is self clearing...although I know nothing about trading or the industry, I keep getting this thought in my head. Im also looking for some leverage...nothing too big, maybe 25:1 or so...If anyone knows a firm that is a good fit for me please feel free to pm me...

==========================================