Career Advice Needed

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by lmn, May 17, 2004.

1. lmn

lmn

About to finish university, I am trying to find a graduate position as a trader. However, my applications to several big banks have all failed. Under such circumstances, can I still start a career in trading?

I have some experience in the stock market, but what I am really interested in is the index futures market. I have been watching the E-minis for several months, and am at the point of actually starting to trade NQ. I am also beginning to learn about the HSI.

Can you please advise me on this? Many thanks in advance.

2. nkhoi

nkhoi

please, search, pretty please.

3. Mecro

Mecro

LOL,

Don't put any hope on I-Bank trading jobs, those are rare and exclusive.

Your best bet is to work into a hedge fund, First New York Securities or make the sacrifices and trade for yourself to at least get some experience.

4. odds are you won't get a paying job. i know you put a few months in watching the E-minis but that and a quarter will leave you with .25 cents. your best move would be find a prop job where you won't have to put money down. if you live with your parents you can go a year without a paycheck and learn.

5. lmn

lmn

Thanks to all of you indeed.

6. %%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%

First question answer ,yes

Perhaps another important question, how did you do with stocks;
    because if not profitable with stocks
    multiply [x] losses king size with derivatives.

Back to your first question & my second question;
    typically trading companies may start you with 1oo shares
    learn without leverage pattern again.

Actually since execution costs are NOT a priority for a swing/position trader;
    glad i learned with average of LESS than 100 shares or 1 contract

:cool:

Wisdom is the principal thing.
    Solomon,trading king

7. lmn

lmn

murray t turtle, thank you indeed.