Career advice needed for a starter.

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by independentCEO, Oct 27, 2005.

1. Hi everyone,

This is my first posting, I am also new to this site. I am a junior student at columbia university. I came from another country 3.5 years ago and got married in here 3 years ago. I transfered to columbia university studying econ-math 2 years ago. I was enrolled full-time but now tution is too expensive and I can afford only one class a semester.

I am 24 and I want to start my career before it is too late for me to be an entry level. I have been looking for the options and Global Markets is something I really enjoy reading about and Trading is very interesting to me.

I had interviews with Banc of America Securities and BlackRock but they didn't give me an offer. I think it has a lot to do with me not being graduated yet.

Sorry for the long message, but I would like to hear your advice for me regarding how to start my trading career. Is there any reputable company that would hire me for full-time without graduation and enrolling to school for one class a semester. Is there some other way to learn this businesses ins and outs from the masters? Like becoming an apprantice but not in a boiler room. Again thank you so much for reading this far and I am looking forward to hear your comments.

Basically, what is the way to become a respected trader under my conditions? Any company that you suggest me for applying? Any books, software or hardware that you advice me to get? Any person that you encourage me to contact?

2. jmh

jmh

i wouldnt waste any time here. this site is not that helpful. best of luck.

3. I would disagree with your comment. I think there are many stressed people in here who jump at the chance to start fights; this might be what gives you the impression that ET is not very helpful.