Career Advice - Let's Have Some Ideas

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by HardTimes, Apr 17, 2003.

1. HardTimes

HardTimes

Long time lurker here and although the board has changed over the last 2 years, it's still the best resource, ideas site on the net.

I'm looking for some ideas on a change of career. I was a broker (in London) for a long time and over the last 2 years have been trading my own account and although profitable I have struggled to make it pay, and the trouble is that I can't see myself getting out of the rut in the future (making money to live but not leaving enough into the account for re-investment).

I am therefore starting to think about a total change of career out of the financial markets. There's a lot of smart and good people here so I'd really appreciate some ideas of what you would do if you had to change.

I'm 32 years old, single and am happy to look at all ideas. And guys only a few jokes allowed!

From reading a good post on this board I've listed some of the ideas that were suggested.

pharmacist

Pilot, opportunities if you look outside the passenger airlines

Chemical engineering degree leading to.....?

Cisco CCNA or similar networking credentials (you mentioned this Nitro, can you elaborate?)

Industrial espionage/Cyber terrorism related IT

IT Security

And what about an IT link between the IT dept and the trading desks because I sure know a lot about trading etc

All comments would be most welcome and have a good Easter/Passover everyone, and good luck with your trading.

2. lindq

lindq

I read recently that a few universities are now offering study and degrees in homeland security. According to the WSJ, there are many jobs waiting with states and cities for those who graduate from the programs. Could be an interesting career.

3. bump this post for more info!!

I find myself in a similar situation