Cant really see the advantage of E-Minis versus Stock Options or Stock Index Options

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by abenyukh, Feb 27, 2003.

1. abenyukh

abenyukh

Perhaps someone can explain the flaws in my thinking.

First, e-minis claim tax benefits because of 60/40 rule where 60% is taxed at Capital Gain rate while 40% is taxed at personal rate.

How exactly is that an advantage. I am in the 30% tax bracket, so it is better i think to have the entire amount taxed at the capital gain rate which i think is like 25% or less.

Next, from what i can tell, and i am very new to Eminis, just been doing some research online, you need approx $3500 in your account per contract.

Now assuming i had $3500 in my account and i bought 1 contract of ES, I would bank $50 for each point the ES goes up.

With stock options, lets take an $2 call, for the same $3500, i can buy 17 contracts giving me a $1700 gain for each point it goes up. No i realize stock options or even index options don't move nearly as quickly as ES, but to get the same $50 gain i would only need the option to move 3 cents higher (.03) thats only 3/100ths of a point.

Again, i re-emphasize, i know almost nothing about e-minis except what I wrote above, so what i am hoping is that you experts out there can please correct my potentially flawed thinking and tell me where i went wrong and that the ES is actaully a better vehicle.

I just dont seem to see the advantages. I hope i am missing something.

Please no hate responses telling me how stupid i am or how i dont know anything because i already know that i know almost nothing. I only know what i read on cme.com and what Interactive Brokers help desk told me)

Also, one last point. CME website says that options on futures requires NO margin and that all i do is multiply the premium by $50 and that is the cost of 1 contract of the option. Interactive Brokers says i need that same $2000 margin for options on futures. Who is correct?