Canary in the mine market timing

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by qlai, Jun 12, 2019.

1. qlai

qlai

2. MarkBrown

MarkBrown

i know this guy and his partner who is in london personally. top notch in my opinion.

trader99 and qlai like this.
  3. Well shit, this is what I've been doing for a couple of years now with different assets, though a slightly larger universe. Nice to know people smarter than me do the same thing.

4. Quote at the end of the article "amibroker as back testing platform used". That definitely does not qualify as top notch. Also, the strategies are decades old ideas that hardly work today. Lastly, the author did not go into any detail on the stability of performance. It might be that some of those strategies performed well a long time ago but performance most likely broke down over the most recent market cycles. I have tested probably several ten thousand times as many strategies as described in the article and I am assured that those depicted are definitely not close to 1 Sharpe, especially not after taking cost of execution into account.

Just saying that running some amateurish backtest and reporting about it does not place one in a top notch decile. And I am not saying that strategy back testing is futile. I myself heavily rely on testing and prototyping ideas. All I am saying is that those claimed performance numbers in the article look highly suspicious and did not really pass my smell test.