Canadina margin requirements for condor spreads with IB

Discussion in 'Options' started by coon, May 2, 2007.

1. coon

coon

I am a Canadian trader that recently opened an options account with IB. I seems that IB requires that Canadian traders margin on both sides of a condor spread. Although I like IB’s commission structure, I find the margin requirements for condors monopolizes my margin.

Is anyone else having this problem. Can someone recommend a good broker that allows Canadian traders to trade condors without having to put up double the margin.

Thanks in advance.

2. You should ask IB to look into this for you. I doubt they'd make you fork up margin requirements for both sides of a condor spread.

3. mnx

mnx

It's true, they margin you on both sides. But they don't margin you on both sides of a strangle/straddle...

That and they wouldn't let us participate in the IPO auction... My only 2 complaints about IB...

- mnx

4. I have already done the leg work on this as I had the same problem.

It's a legal issue. Canadian brokers MUST treat it as 2 separate spreads.

HOWEVER, procedures are in the final stages and that soon (I don't know how soon) this may change.

I have contacted the IDA, OSC etc.

Contact Bruce Grossman at 416-943-5782 at the IDA. He is very kind and will happily answer your questions.

He is up-to date on this and it's on its final stages. There are other option combos also being considered.

If you want to have a look at the proposal, let him know OR I could send you a copy.

Torontoman

5. jj90

jj90

About time. Ridiculous how backwards the Canadian industry is on this issue.

About the IBIPO, I'm late to the party but just because we are Canucks we can't get in? That is a serious problem.

6. coon

coon

Thanks Torontoman for the info. Can you please send me a copy to sweep00@shaw.ca.

Thanks again

7. mnx

mnx