Can you really trust a computer to trade for you?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by jinxu, Jun 15, 2012.

1. jinxu

jinxu

I have a job and am busy during the day so I can't watch the market all the time. I'm looking for something a computer program maybe to monitor my positions for me. I have some programming experience but haven't done anything extensively and don't really have the time to learn right now.

What I want is just a basic program that can close out my positions at the end of the day at a specific time or price level. Is there anything out there that can do just that?

2. Bison42

Bison42

Even with all of the technology out there that can identify entry and exit point. The human being still has to make the decision in this case.

3. ======
    JNu;

Yes, its easy to set up a buy to close;
    buy to open... sell to close, market on close order ....

Brokers differ;
    IB[Interactive Brokers]OX [Oprions Express ]...have more order set ups than that.OX works well with telephoine orders also.

Part time any thing/trading /investing may be better to learn on;
    butnot near as good as full time.[Rule of 72 = work 12 hours a day for 6 days a week= 72 hours for 7. 2 years]

Plenty of money managers/ traders/ investors/specs swing /posittion trade/invest;
    with end of day quotes.So end of day can be an advantage.Wisdom is profitable to direct-Not a prediction.:cool:

4. lindq

lindq

An account at IB (Interactive Brokers) will permit you to set limits, stops and a time to close. Mark them all with an OCA (One Closes All), and you can go about your other work without monitoring the positions.

As far as I know, there isn't any platform you can run on your own that you can trust to reliably monitor and close open positions. I automate all entries, but exits are another matter.

5. many trading platforms let you send MOO/LOO and MOC/LOC orders. what platform are you using currently?