Can you buy "the index"?

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by thereuare, May 29, 2002.

1. I have a strategy i'd like to implement that has been backtested using the SPX and NDX indexes.

Is there a way to buy/sell the "cash" indexes?

If not, how closely correlated are the futures and the indexes? I would expect the futures to have a premium/discount that varies throughout the day, which could potentially make the strategy not worthwhile.

As I'm new to futures... what would be the best way to implement a strategy that works well based upon the cash index? Or am i better off trading the SPY and QQQ instead as they would more closely mimic the corresponding indexes?

Thank you.

2. - you cannot trade cash indices
    - you may build option-based positions reflecting
    the cash (e.g. long call / short put SPX or NDX -- see cboe)
    - you can trade the futures, they move as the index does
    (they lead the cash most time)
    - this is not the first thread opened today in this style,
    i am a little bit shocked - do you guys really think you will
    survive... i give you 15%

3. QQQ and SPY move in lock-step with the futures NQ and ES respectively.

4. m_c_a98

m_c_a98

realize you will not get the same performance when actually trading the security as you do when testing based on cash. for example, cash closes at 4pmEST, futures at 4:15EST, slippage, etc. I would test with the futures or SPY instead of cash.
    May not be as profitable as you thought????

5. A couple of points:

1) If QQQ and SPY did not precisely track the futures, arbitrageuers would immediately step in to profit and then make sure the two did move in virtual lockstep.

2) Please backtest your strategy on the futures themselves, not the indices (because the futures represent actual trades that were made to establish a value, as opposed to the indices which are not themselves directly determined by trading), and make due allowance for slippage and commissions.