Can this work ?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by anotherhawkeye, Mar 3, 2008.

1. I'm a part time trader/investor thinking about going full time. I would need to your help in some brainstorming.

Current situation:

I'm 31 and making close to 100k per year in my current job. I have about 100k in capital to start.

I'm married, have a kid and a mortgage. But my wife is working and her salary is enough to take care of the monthly expenses. I dont HAVE to make money every month to make ends meet.

I have been trading part time and doing okay.

Why I’m thinking of day trading:

Stock market is my passion. Whatever spare time I have, I follow stock market. I trade part time (mostly swing trading as I don’t have much time during the day to trade) and am doing okay for the most part.

My plan:

Leave the job and start day trading, using the 100k capital. For a few years, I can just let the capital grow (if I'm lucky enough to make money that is) as I dont need to this money for monthly expenses. Long term (say after 5 years), I might have enough capital to make serious money.

Trading full time will enable me in cutting down our expenses because I wouldn’t be working. Say, manage with one car instead of two and so on. If I’m successful in trading and I’m committed to trading long term, I’m thinking of moving to another smaller town with low cost of living to cut the monthly expenses further.

I would like your opinions on my plan. Also, how much money can I make realistically in a year on an average with 100k capital, assuming I'm as successful as an average successful trader ? If its 50% of capital after taxes, I would have a million dollars in 7 years. That doesn’t sound realistic is it? So how much is realistic?

2. DrEvil

DrEvil

Why not keep the job and put 50% of it each year into your trading account (assuming that you are swing trading successfully).

3. volente_00

volente_00

define doing okay

Is your current 100k salary before tax ?