Can someone help with "decay" questions?

Discussion in 'Options' started by slapshot, Dec 27, 2005.

1. Hello,

Thanks in advance for any serious, well-intentioned help.

I am a seasoned futures trader that has just made my first option trade ever - buying a futures option put for March 06 - so obviously I'm an options rookie, although I have read a couple of books to try to get the basics down.

Right now, it is "at the money" and looking like it may turn out to be a dandy trade, especially after today's selloff.

Here is my question - how much of a factor is time decay for an option that is at or in the money?

I am aware that an significantly out of the money option will decrease rapidly as the strike date looms, as it becomes highly unlikely that it will ever get near "strike".

But it seems to me that as I have watched the underlying asset, my put matches it almost tick per tick (which makes sense since it is in/at the money).

So if it goes further in the money, how much do I need to be worried about time decay eating the value?

In other words, if it is deep in the money, but it is still 2 months away from expiration, is decay actually even factored in or is it "valued" by the market exactly the same as the underlying due to intrinsic value? Or is there still some "premium" value there due to the remaining time?

Thanks for any help, advice or pointing me in the right direction to learn about this concept.

Best,

Paul

PS Any "must reads" for options? Simple stuff, please - I ain't that bright...

2. Hey Paul -- all the greeks, save for delta, are greatest at the atm strike. So the greatest risks lie atm for theta.

It's why atm straddles are considered by some to be the riskiest strategy; they offer little margin for error on both sides of the transaction.

Sheldon Natenberg's "Option Volatility and Pricing" is considered the bible for exchange-traded vanilla options.

3. HUH? (I don't get the "greeks" thing - could you elaborate?)