can market profile be self-taught?

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by hanzahar, Aug 6, 2008.

1. I've been reading about market profile lately and a lot of times I see posters saying that market profile is not easy to learn..you have to join/purchase courses like balancetrader etc

anyone here using market profile @ self-taught?

:confused:

2. Start here.

help for struggling traders

The OP of the thread uses market profile.

There are many other threads here that go into market profile as well.

You have to use the search engine.

3. 1) The book authored by Kevin Koy has the most practical way of describing and displaying the profile data for immediate trading application.
    2) Being cognizant of "initiating range extension" helps to give me a better idea of lower-risk set-ups.

4. beyondMP

beyondMP

You can learn Market Profile on your own, but it depends on what you are planning on using Market Profile for.
    If you are looking for specific trade setups, then you might want to see what others are doing. If you want to use it for understanding the movements of a particular market to supplement your own trading style than you really don't need anyone.

Also, please understand that most of the people trying to teach it are only teaching there view of Market Profile and there are many different ways to use it.

5. I have my own strategy...

I would like to learn market profile so that I'm able to may have a better picture of what the market is doing (market conditions)

any website that provide good resource on market profile?

thanks

6. Surdo

Surdo

7. TsunTzu

TsunTzu