Can I sue the NASD over the new margin rule?

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by Vinnie, Sep 8, 2001.

1. Vinnie

Vinnie

I know that is kind of a stupid question, however, with this new margin rule, it is all over for me. I will be unable to raise the funds required nor will i be able to produce any income with the new rule. With under 25k, no margin at all, no shorting, and you can't even trade with cash. Unbelievable. I started trading in May and am getting better, but my only other option is to borrow money off credit cards just to meet the stupid requirement, and this will be dead money. I don't really need 4 to 1 margin, i trade with IB and have been happy up until now. I think this new rule is an outrage, and a blatant attempt to squash the little guy, i though this was America. Since I will not be able to produce income at all because of the new rule, i seriously thought of filing a lawsuit against the SEC and/or the NASD on grounds that I will have to file for bankruptcy due to this rule. I invested a lot of time and money in equipment and setting this business up and now i will not be able to continue. I would have to go more into debt just to fund the acct, and i would not be able to let the acct. drop below 25k, because i would be restricted again. This is an unfortunate situation, and I know there are a lot of newbies out there who may be in a similar situation, and will never be able to show their profit potential with this new rule. Again, i know filing a lawsuit sounds corny, but i know a lof of you have at least thought about it. Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated. By the way, I need not be reminded of all the alternatives to intraday trading/scalping, like options, futures, swings, i have read enough about all the ways to try to get around the rule, and it's futile. Comments are welcome.:confused:

2. tradex21

tradex21