Can I be a profitable trader?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by dafong, Feb 12, 2009.

1. dafong

dafong

So for the last 3 months, I've been day trading, but only making 3-4 trades a day trading the 500 shares of the SPY, which is equivalent to one contract of the ES. But anyways, I've been trading on my etrade account and each trade is 7.99. I looked at my performance for the last 3 months and i'm break even, but i've racked up commissions of over 5000. By switching to a per share basis commission broker, let's say IB, they charge .005 per share which is 2.50 for 500 shares. This would lead me to believe that I could be profitable with the lower commissions. Should I have any doubts?

2. Brandonf

Brandonf Sponsor

Back in the mid late nineties when I started trading commissions ran about $50 in and out. I'd started with $25,000 and ran the account down to around $10,000 very quickly, when I looked at my results I discovered I'd actually made about $600 trading, but I had paid over $15,000 in commissions to do it, so my result was a loss. Back then there still where not many per share deals out there, but MBTrading started to offer a deal of $5 for 300 shares, so I quickly changed my brokerage firm from the Executioner to MBTrading, and that was a big part in the start of my becoming profitable. Obviously once the 2 or 3 months where up I'd be back in the same boat, but what it really did for me was gave me the confidence I needed to not trade so scared. So, I did start to make some money and have continued to after that.
    If your breaking even after the amount of time youve been in the market and are just started out that's a great result. I'd suggest you look at trading the emini's themselves as opposed to the SPY/QQQQ etc, but if you want to stick to the stocks for whatever reason you should definatly switch a per share commission broker for the time being as it will save you a ton of money and probably help you turn the corner.
    Brandon