Can completely discretionary traders every succeed?

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by kiwi_trader, Aug 8, 2005.

What is your trading style?

1. I'm a purely discretionary trader

78 vote(s)
    32.9%
  2. I have rules and apply a little intuition

116 vote(s)
    48.9%
  3. I trade my rules 100%

20 vote(s)
    8.4%
  4. I'm a systems trader

23 vote(s)
    9.7%
  1. "I am not saying that it is impossible for the discretionary, active trader to achieve long-term success. Rather, my case is that, if only a small fraction of traders are highly successful in a single year and if only a fraction of those can sustain that success across market cycles that are averaging 2 years in duration, then the ideal glibly described in advertisements and magazines—“trading for a living”—is an anomaly, just as “golfing for a living” or “playing poker for a living” is the strict exception rather than the rule. Of course, it is not in the interest of brokerage houses, publishers of trading materials, trading software firms, or commercial trading gurus to publicize this perspective. I’m sure my stance on the matter makes me a kind of Howard Beale of the trading world. No matter; if the long-term successes at trading step forward with their account statements to prove me wrong, I will be only too happy to admit my madness."

"No amount of psychology will help a momentum trader from 1999 suddenly make the transition to selling strength in 2001, buying weakness in 2003, and then fading all momentum in 2005. It is like asking a devout Christian to become a Buddhist, then a Muslim, and then an atheist. The human mind does not shift its worldviews so readily—a fact that makes happy evolutionary success, but creates untold grief in trading."

Brett Steenbarger has a couple of interesting articles on his website about his observations on discretionary trading:

http://www.brettsteenbarger.com/Micropsychology Modeler.doc

http://www.brettsteenbarger.com/Micropsychology Modeler2.doc