Calling all traders: where can I become one?

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by newguyintown, Sep 20, 2005.

1. Hi everyone,

I'm someone who is currently at a major juncture in his professional life. First let me provide you with a bit of background, and then hopefully you can help me out with some advice...

I graduated from university 2 years ago (top of my class with a 4.0 GPA) and was quickly hired as a technical analyst by an MIT grad that was launching a new hedge fund. Since then I have developed my abilities in technical analysis by studying for the chartered Market Technicians (CMT) program, in which I am now a level II candidate. However, while I enjoy technical analysis and am earning a good salary, I am passionate about becoming a professional trader. Therefore, I have decided to quit my job and pursue a professional trading career.

After doing a lot of research, I've found that it would be best to try to start out with a prop trading firm that hires new traders as employees (usually Trader Trainees) and gives them intensive training, while also not requiring them to put up their own capital. I have actually identified around 20 such companies, and have applied to them. But now comes the tough part.

First of all, I'm not in the US; I am currently working in Kuwait. Second of all, I'm Canadian not American. Third of all, while the university I graduated from is highly estmeed in academic circles (many of its grads have went on to such schools as Harvard, Yale and MIT) it is in the Middle East and thus virtually unkown to any recruiters in the US. Now why is all of this important? Well, because, for one, these prop firms that hire you as an employee are extremely selective, and thus looking to recruit mostly from the top US schools. And two, a lot of them seem to only want people residing in the US.