Calendar Spread

Discussion in 'Options' started by ahollybair, Oct 4, 2007.

1. Hi Guys:

I've been trading stocks for 10 years or so.
    I'm new to Options trading: actually trying to setup a calendar-spread trade, but ran into a situation that can't seem to get a clear answer to.

Here is the trade:
    (a) I want to Sell short term (Oct 2007, Nov 2007, Dec 2007) PUTs for income.
    (b) To cover myself I Buy LEAPs (Apr 2008).
    (c) Same Strike Price, Same qty underlying.
    (d) If for some unplanned event, the price of the underlying hits the Strike price of the short-call, I'll be automatically assigned.
    (e) I will be required at that point to cover the underlying that was PUT to me.
    (f) I don't have the cash to cover it.
    (g) My understanding (from seminars, books, etc) is that you can cover yourself by buying far-out options.
    (h) So I use my LEAP options to cover my short option.
    (i) However, from my conversations with the broker, I am 'naked' for a about 24hrs, until I exercise my LEAP and cover myself.

QUESTION:

(q1) Is it correct that you are not really covered by the LEAP,
    (q2) and you really need the funds to cover yourself for the short option ?
    (q3) So what good is the LEAP if you are not really covered.

thanks.

Ahollybair

2. spindr0

spindr0

There are some errors in your post. Most are minor.

Some clarifications:

b) To cover myself I Buy LEAPs (Apr 2008)

Those are not LEAPS. LEAPS have more than 9 months remaining.

(a) I want to Sell short term (Oct 2007, Nov 2007, Dec 2007) PUTs for income.
    (b) To cover myself I Buy LEAPs (Apr 2008).

This is a put spread.

(d) If for some unplanned event, the price of the underlying hits the Strike price of the short-call, I'll be automatically assigned.

There are no calls involved in a put spread. Typo?

(e) I will be required at that point to cover the underlying that was PUT to me.