Caffeinated thoughts from a full-time software developer/part-time trader

Discussion in 'Journals' started by krugman25, Aug 27, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. krugman25

krugman25 Guest

This is a journal to discuss trading and current events affecting the market. I also plan on posting projects I am working on, software development or just any random thoughts about life.

A little info about me - I have been trading candlestick patterns for about 7 years now. I trade trade just a handful of setups that I deem to be high probability. I also sell options for a delta neutral, premium selling strategy. I also trying to slowly build up a long term portfolio that will have about 1/3 weighing to beat up commodity producers and 2/3 technology.

Grab a cup of coffee, sit down, and chat a while.

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 27, 2019
    themickey and fan27 like this.
  2. krugman25

krugman25 Guest

Inter-Market Correlations

Inter-Market Correlations(30 Days).png

Evgeniy and jl1575 like this.
  3. krugman25

krugman25 Guest

Current Portfolio Correlation - 0.08

upload_2019-8-27_8-25-50.png

4. tommcginnis

tommcginnis

So, the "beat up" part -- is that more on the demand side, the supply side, or are you more, "beat-up agnostic" and just looking for discounts? (Or, have you thought about it like that?)

Indeed, is this Corn(s) Of The Cow, rather than Dogs Of The Dow? :D

krugman25 likes this.
  5. krugman25

krugman25 Guest

Looking at the producers. There is a lot more that goes into it than that one simple sentence expresses, but I will just say I look at the sectors individually and the entire commodities complex altogether. I like to look at the ratios between markets, like the GSCI Commodities Index vs SP500 for example. I also like to look at individual metrics such as sector CAPE ratios, pb, ps, etc. Looking at all of that just to see where we are sitting within historic norms.