C2 strategies comments

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by bbpp, Jan 31, 2017.

1. bbpp

bbpp

I would like to give my opinion on collective2 hottest strategies, discussing their approaches, good and bad about these strategies.

I was a developer at collective2 trading equity, so I only comment on equity strategies.

lovethetrade and Baron like this.
  2. gkishot

gkishot

If you have insight into their approaches, it would be interesting to follow.

3. bbpp

bbpp

Mr Money Tree:
    https://collective2.com/details/104368227

This is a counter trend strategy.
    If you track its trade record, all its trades were placed at the opposite direction with market, that is, on an up day, it short; and on a down day, it buy.

The developer bet on market trend change, so he is trying to catch overbought or oversold condition.
    We all know the words " follow trend", that is because the probability that trend continues is higher than trend changes. So counter trend strategies usually do not work well.
    However, a weak market trend situation is suitable for a counter trend strategy. Because when market trend is weak, you can often see market retreat from trend direction.
    When I was a developer at collective2, my approach was follow trend. This approach works well in a strong trend situation, but is bad in a weak trend situation.
    Now look at Mr Money Tree: when it performed good in Aug, Sep, Oct, Nov 2016, my strategy was bad in the same period. After Nov, 2016, He was doing bad while I turned round.
    So the fact is, we had 4 month weak trend market in Aug, Sep, Oct, Nov, 2016 . That is probably due to uncertainty about election outcome, and that situation is not likely to continue.
    So Mr Money Tree's future performance depends on whether market has a weak trend for a relatively long time.
    From my experiences, that situation is rare.
    So I don't expect Mr Money Tree will do good in the futures.

Last edited: Jan 31, 2017