C++ API for Interactive Brokers??

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by mindset, May 8, 2009.

1. mindset

mindset

Hello Guys and Girls,

I am new to using the API for interactive brokers and wondered if anybody is using the API currently?

Does anybody have any solutions up and running using VS2008? Is it hard to get up and running if your a beginner in C++?

The idea is for me to implement a automated trading strategy using C++ and IB API.

I look forward to hearing from you,

Thanks.

2. Hi mindset,

I have developed my own Trading application in C++ which can use the IB interface. To be honest I would not recommend developing a trading application for a beginner because it will turn out that it is not as easy as expected and it will take much more time than expected. The IB-api is finally only a kind of protocol definition wrapped in some C++ classes. If you want to develop a more sophisticated application you will not use the api in your app since it is not UNICODE aware and uses blocked socket-reading which can lead to bad UI-responses. So you will use the API only to get some insight into the protocol and do the real work yourself.
    A lot of apps are already available on the net – also for free. The more important is Ninja-Trader which already has a lot of users also here on ET. This might be helpful are you using NT and have some issues developing your own ATS.

Daniel

pstrusi likes this.
  3. Many traders and 3rd party software developers use the IB API.

Why the choice of C++? How about Java?

You can see an open source ATS written in Java for the IB API at http://code.google.com/p/jsystemtrader/

With JSystemTrader it is rather straightforward to modify an existing strategy or write a new strategy, backtest it and run it in realtime.

If you want to work with the order book there is JBookTrader http://code.google.com/p/jbooktrader/

4. mindset

mindset

Hi Guys,