butterflies and condors

Discussion in 'Options' started by hollowpoint, Jun 3, 2007.

1. when using butterflies and condors, does one have to own the stock (long) or can one with no capital in the stock (short) use them also? Does this principle also apply to covered calls and puts?

I am new to this. I don't want to buy any stock, just play the options off them. For someone like me who is short in the stock, the only strategys I know are straddles and strangles besides the simple purchase of calls and puts. Are there any others for someone who wishes to not own any shares of stock?

Thanks

2. You don't have to own stock to sell options. Cash and/or long options will be enough to cover any short positions.

3. Butterfly Spread:
    The sale (purchase) of two identical options, together with the purchase (sale) of one option with an immediately higher strike, and one option with an immediately lower strike. All options must be the same type, have the same underlying and have the same expiration date.

When they say the "sale" is that from a long (writing the option) position or is that someone in the short position buying 4 options and selling 2 of them? If this strategy works for a person in a short position, when is it best applied?

Thanks.

4. LionZion

LionZion

again sorry about my english but i will try to answer.

sell means short, it means to write the options.
    lets say you want to buy butterfly with calls on strike 100 (each strike 10 pts), so it would look like:

+1 CALL 90
    - 2 CALL 100
    +1 CALL 110

+ means to buy (long) and - means to write (short).

the opposite side, the one who sells you the butterfly will have exactly the opposite posision.

butterfly are usually good to buy in the end of the time life of the options, its law risk againts high return, but its like you need to twist to the target.

5. Re: SHORT