Businessweek seminars worth it? Help please!!!

Discussion in 'Educational Resources' started by grayhorse, Oct 31, 2002.

1. grayhorse

grayhorse

I attended a free 90 minute seminar (sales pitch) to attend a two day Businessweek Investor Workshop. They're looking for $4,000 to attend and get 6 months access to their website afterwhich they will charge $50/mo. Has anyone attended the workshop? Is it worth it? I'm fairly new to stock investing and would like to start short term trading.

All input welcome, also any other seminar recommendations please.
    Thanks,
    Gray

:confused:

2. I have not attended the BW seminar but am a subscriber to the magazine. I also just found the seminar online you are talking about.

The magazine is geared toward fundamental analysis type investing (when they talk about investing), as is the seminar. Short term trading, for the most part, does not use these approaches. I would not spend that kind of money on this unless you are looking for ways to manage your long term investments.

For short-term trading training, read the archives on this site, go to your local Borders and buy some recommended books (read Amazon and this site for reviews), and start from there.

Hope this helps,

Rich

3. trdrmac

trdrmac

NO NO NO NO NO AND NO!!

There is a ton of new and FREE information on the web.

For $4000 you could buy an library of books and get far more information on the market.

But, if you don't belive me, and this is just a guess on my part. Go to the last 8 copies of BW and flip to the back, that crappy stock section that they have, and write down all of the picks/pans.

And then compare those to what the market did in the same period of time. Bet the market did better.

And oh, I know that this is a SPECIAL service, they all are in this business.

4. It's only worth 4 G's if they are going to email attendies the inside wallstreet columns a day in advance so you can front run every one else.

:D