Bullverines 2 week trial Journal and PA discussion

Discussion in 'Journals' started by Bullverine, Mar 29, 2010.

1. Greeting Ladies and Gentleman:

First a little background. I have been working in the financial industry for a couple of years (not trading related job) and have been a successful part-time swing trader. I do not have any actual day trading experience and swing trading strategies do not apply as much intraday. I have been doing alot of research the past year, reading books, forums, journals and picking up all the information I could possibly get. Unfortunately I do not have a mentor and have been learning everything on my own making this a very slow error filled process for me.

As you all know, one can read books and manuals about trading for the rest of his/her life and still not become a trader, so I figured its time to learn using one of the most reliable methods available to me. That method is trading, going at it day after day getting screen time and real experience. I do have a day job for now, I took a couple of weeks off to trade in my life sim-account and I am planning to document these two weeks because I believe they will do more for me then any book can.

From what I have been reading in the journals and discussions of more experience traders, I noticed one common factor and that is that they evolved away from indicators and came to the conclusion that price action is all one need and everything else is more of a distraction. So I though I'll try to learn correct from the start using the less is more approach. In all my trades I only use PA, volume and 20 EMA. I am not sure if I am doing myself a disservice by not using more indicators or L2, but I don't want to complicate things too much at my level.