Bullish on Stock - Request for Advice

Discussion in 'Options' started by pattersb, May 18, 2006.

1. pattersb

pattersb Guest

I'm fairly new to options and would appreciate any advice ..

I've discovered a stock that I am very bullish on. I'm planning to buy the underlying, but I'd like to maximize my profit potential through options contracts.

The technicals look super-fantastic, and it has weathered the last week unscathed.

It's failry lightly traded and trading at 64 and I think it has room to go higher ...

I'll buy call contracts, but I plan to risk more than usual. Any suggestions. I'd like to minimize risk/maximize profit.

wouldn't everybody ...

2. Buy a 70 call 3 months out

3. If it's a chinese ADR, the stock is overbought at the moment. Waiting for a pullback is best, but if you really want to jump the gun use a very tight stop.

4. pattersb

pattersb Guest

Good call optionspro!

My thinking is that if any week was good for a pullback, it was this one. Frankly it appeared to me Everything was over-bought. I've been longing puts this past couple weeks, and just noticed this stock blazed right though these past few days.

Not too mention the potential Chinese customer base.

you're probably right ... I'll look for it to move back to 60 ...

Thanks for the response, and the pause ...

5. pattersb,

I looked at the stock again. It's difficult to see it's real strength. On the one hand you have major distribution going on. Volume during the past three weeks has not been institutional or fund related. And on the other you have the public going crazy feeding itself like hungry piranhas....

The way I see it, this weeks buyers are the biggest suckers at this point...

The distance from price to it's 50 day moving avarage will tell you how much / if the stock is over-extended.

If it was me, I would wait for price to form a nice looking base. The stock has only based once since it's IPO, so it has at least two good bases in store...

Good luck !!