Bull Put spreads

Discussion in 'Options' started by rockthecasbah12, Mar 3, 2010.

1. Anyone here trade bull put spreads? I'm new to it. I virtual traded for awhile on a practice account and am about to get into it with real money, albeit very small amounts to begin with.

Any successes or failures?

2. Bull put spreads covers a lot of territory:

ITM,OTM,ATM??

Next month, near term, Far in the future??

why are you doing it?

Speculation, income?

3. Way out of the money for income. Anywhere from 15 days to six weeks til expirtion.

4. How do you hedge your downside?

5. Basically I don't.

My first trade was ITMN. I sold 7.50 puts for .55 and bought 5 puts at .15. There's considerable downside risk, but my goal is to pick trades where the stock would almost have to lose 50% of its value in order for my options to be in the money.

6. It's a "safer" way to start out trading instead of doing outrights. You'll tend to earn and lose money slowly and "experience" the quirks of the option's greek variables. :cool:

7. Well, if you are here long enough you will eventually hear "nickels in front of a steamroller" and other comments about selling otm premie. But if you have some sort of edge picking stocks that will not fall off the cliff/at least be stable, you'll win.

Careful with those biotechs though. Imagine an OTM Bull Put on MDVN? roflcopter :eek: