Bull Put Spreads for Beginners

Discussion in 'Options' started by OptionsOops, Apr 22, 2007.

1. I`d like to clarify a few of the finer points of Bull Put Spreads. I am a beginner, so please go easy ;) My account is with IB.

Starting with just cash in my account, say I buy a XYZ 100 put and sell a 110 put. I receive say $900 credit, and have a margin requirement of $1000.
    Do I earn interest on the $900 received?
    Do I pay interest on the $1000 margin?

In other words, if an equivalent debit spread and credit spread cost the same, does the credit spread work out cheaper thanks to earning interest on the premium received?

Now let's say I start by purchasing stock (say a bond ETF to be conservative) on margin, then execute the XZY bull put spread. Does the credit received save me from paying margin interest on the stock?

My intentions are to hold the positions long term and roll them after 1-3 years. (I`m trading LEAPS). I want the spread to be wide for maximum upside potential, but what steps should I take to reduce the likelihood of the sold puts being exercised? Would I be correct in expecting the answer to be "don't sell puts if you don't want to be assigned, stop trading now you idiot"? :)

2. MTE

MTE

I don't know what the IB policy is on paying interest, so you'd better check with them for exact details, but, no you do not pay interest on the $1000 margin requirement (this is not the same as buying stock on margin) and, yes, you should receive interest on the $900. By the way, don't forget that the calls and thus the call debit spread prices-in approx. 5.25% carry (i.e. interest), which is probably more than what you get with IB. So don't get hooked up on this interest on the credit.