Building an offsite volatility RV system?

Discussion in 'App Development' started by sle, Dec 6, 2011.

1. sle

sle

I am trying to build an infrastructure for detecting relative value opportunities in options. The idea is to make the infrastructure "employer-independent", even though I will most certainly use it while working here. The final goal is to be able to open a separate shop, should I decide to do so, with the least amount of downtime. I will also prefice right away that I am not a "true" IT person - even though I've majored in Math/CS some years ago, I have been trading options for the last 18 years and it certainly did not make me any smarter.

Thus, I decided to go with a web service-style approach. The data stream from exchanges, the vol surface fitter and the volatility database would all reside on a private server (I take it putting a server in some reasonable colocation service is dirt cheap these days if you don't need light-speed latency). Also, on the same server would reside my volatility RV code (which I would write in R) and whatever results would be displayed in the form of simple HTML pages or downloadable CSV files.

Obviously, a lot of choices have to be made and questions have to be answered. That's where I hope the collective intelligence here would help me:

(a) What operating system I go with? Linux sounds like a natural choice but it will somewhat restrict my software choices. It does, however, seem to be most cost effective and scalable.

(b) Which database should I use? So far I am leaning toward MySQL - free, scalable, good administration UI. Oracle is the other choice.

(c) The volatility fitter/updater - should it be developed in C++, Java or some .NET platform? I can see positives to all of these, but most importantly C++ is the easiest to interconnect with R, has the least number of performance issues (and since we are fitting vol surfaces for several thousands of stocks a few times a day, performance is important).