Building an ATS - Logbook

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by tiagor, Dec 5, 2012.

1. tiagor

tiagor

Hi,

After spending some time reading a few threads from this forum section I thought of giving something back. This thread will aim to provide a logbook on the buildup of my own ATS and the results achieved with it, be them good or bad.

Just to provide some background, I've played with some live trading with CFDs and Forex in the past, using small size accounts just to try and get the feel of how the market works. This will be my first experience with automating strategies.

Be advised this is not my job nor I have plans for it to be in the future. It is an intellectual challenge to prove myself it is doable by an interested invidual with limited resources. I've worked in IT for the past 15 years and even though I'm not a developer I feel reasonably comfortable with programming languages and automation.

Everybody is invited to participate and provide suggestions for improvement and guidance. However, I appreciate no trolling on this thread. If you don't like it just don't read it.

I'll split some details on my plan and the work already done over the next posts so as facilitate the thread readability.

2. Broker's API or FIX messages? :p

3. tiagor

tiagor

Removal Request

4. tiagor

tiagor

Here are some macro details of what is going on:

MARKET: For now I’ll be focusing exclusively on FOREX
    Reason: Less instruments to focus on, greater market liquidity and increased volatility. I will be working mostly on the EUR/USD pair possibly extending to other non-exotics in the future.

BROKER: MBTrading