Buffett says economy needs immediate help

Discussion in 'Wall St. News' started by S2007S, Oct 2, 2008.

1. S2007S

S2007S

Wonder if he is worried about his last 2 investments in GE and GS...

AP
    Buffett says economy needs immediate help
    Thursday October 2, 10:27 am ET
    By Josh Funk, AP Business Writer
    Buffett says financial crisis is an 'economic Pearl Harbor' that needs immediate counterattack

OMAHA, Neb. (AP) -- Billionaire investor Warren Buffett said the nation has been hit with an "economic Pearl Harbor," and the government must respond quickly.

Buffett talked about the nation's ongoing financial woes in an appearance on the "The Charlie Rose Show" that aired Wednesday night on PBS stations.

"This really is an economic Pearl Harbor," Buffett said. "That sounds melodramatic, but I've never used that phrase before. And this really is one."

Buffett's spokeswoman did not immediately respond to messages left Wednesday afternoon and Thursday morning.

Buffett said the nation's economic problems are already starting to be felt by furniture and jewelry stores such as the ones owned by Buffett's company, Berkshire Hathaway Inc.

The billionaire predicts that the rest of the "Main Street" economy will start to have problems if the government's financial bailout plan doesn't pass Congress soon.

"In my adult lifetime, I don't think I've ever seen people as fearful economically as they are now," the 78-year-old Buffett said.

The fear in the marketplace has allowed Buffett to make several sizable investments over the past month in proven companies that needed cash quickly. And Berkshire, which had $31.2 billion cash on hand at the end of June, was ready to invest because, Buffett says, he always tries to be greedy when others are fearful.