broker for trailing stop

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by zxcv1fu, Aug 22, 2001.

1. zxcv1fu

zxcv1fu

I am a swing trader. My weak pt is my stop loss. Therefore I am looking for a broker with trailing stop, low commisson & with IRA account. If it has RT charting, alert & news are optional. Which is a good one for me to sign up?

2. Most live brokers aren't going to want you to change your stop price on a very frequent basis, as the each change puts them at risk of an error being made, and of an error that they would have to eat. This risk just isn't worth the single commission they'd get.

You'll probably want to go with an online broker with trailing stop capability. Schwab appears to have it with it's new StreetSmarts trading software, and CyberCorp has it as well. I imagine that a number of other direct trading platforms has this capability too.

Happy Trailing stops.

-- Punter

3. Lancer

Lancer

4. Turok

Turok

>Terra Nova-MB has everything you're looking for.

Well, except for the "low commissions" part. :)

Let's be clear on two points:

A. MB provide the best service of any of my brokers. These guys and gals or the best about taking care of me.

B. I pay for it dearly.

JB

5. zxcv1fu

zxcv1fu

Is it possible that all brokers that using Real Tick will have trailing stop function to reach ARCA?

Then all I need to look is the broker that have Real Tick.

Besides Real Tick, can any broker can trade thru ARCA has trailing stop function?

6. Lancer

Lancer

Agreed regarding best service, (and not the cheapest). To fairly compare costs between brokerages, though, average trade size and monthly trade volume must be considered. The set and quality of trading tools and data provided is also a big part of value. For me, TNMB is a good fit.

Whether low, fair, or high, that's an individual call, but here's the Terra Nova-MB commission structure:

Tier 1: $14.95 (1 - 249 trades per month)
    Tier 2: $12.95 (250 - 499 trades per month)