Brief Introduction

Discussion in 'Journals' started by Bomp, Dec 21, 2020.

1. Bomp

Bomp

I have been a professional trader the past 20 years, working in some of the largest global banks and one of the major US IB. My experience is mostly in FX and Interest rate derivatives, and mostly in emerging markets. I have had very little exposure to the equity markets, other than as macro factor(Always had my money passively managed). I have been on a COVID induced sabbatical from the financial industry since early this year. At the end of July, and after binging on everything on Netflix, Amazon and HBO I decided to dip my toes in trading equity/equity options. I will share some of my experiences and results.

Opened a trading account with a low 6 figure balance to trade cash equities/ETF and level III options. From the start I decided I was going to pursue a more contrarian strategy. My idea was to generate positive returns with strategies that would offset negative periods in my non-discretionary passive goal oriented accounts. The focus was to be weekly, bi/weekly and monthly positions. So, swing trading rather than intraday stuff. I always believe that markets provide BIG opportunities 3-4 times a year were one can size up. This last point would be the second leg of my strategy.