Brave New World

Discussion in 'Journals' started by Neoxx, Jan 7, 2006.

1. Neoxx

Neoxx

It happened by chance, four months ago.

An unspoken promise; to be liberated from the chains of limitation.

The specifics are irrelevant; suffice to say my curiosity was piqued. Trepidation and skepticism were my allies as I began my journey, stealing onto paths unexplored, tiptoeing in the shadows of giants.

Little did I realize what I had embarked upon.

My background is in neither finance nor mathematics. Life and death is my fortress, the quiet cacophony of the ER.

When the grim reaper loses his mystique and is consigned to the realm of the commonplace, a stark detachment has been born. Stone-cold discipline, emotionless logic, unfaltering action.

Before I saw the limitations.

Now I see the possibilities.

As I venture into this brave new world, I dare to dream.

2. Neoxx

Neoxx

Human psychology and human emotion.

You cannot quantify the unquantifiable, nor chain the illogical with shackles of reason.

You cannot model for the vacillations of the fickle.

But recurring patterns occur everywhere.

The pattern recognition ability of the human brain is staggering. More powerful than the most sophisticated supercomputer.

A glance at an ECG (EKG) will give me far more information than a machine-generated analysis.

Every patient is a unique combination of signs and symptoms. But they present a familiar pattern. Sometimes, it takes seconds to recognize these patterns, and endless hours seeking confirmation with investigations of escalating complexity.

In my industry, we practice the art of medicine, and defend ourselves with the science.

The art consisting of judgement, decision and intuition.

After all, what is intuition but subconscious knowledge coming to conscious awareness. The mind is a repository and network of the highest order.

Unerring precision.

Limitless interconnections.

Incalculable depth.

3. Mvic

Mvic

What city do you work in?