Box Spread Arbitrage

Discussion in 'Options' started by chicagodon, Aug 11, 2013.

1. I'm an option newbie, read natenberg & McMillan so I grasp a decent chunk of the theoretical option strategies, but also don't pretend like I know very much about the practical side of trading options.

Are box spread arbitrage strategies even possible anymore? I realize its 4 legs so commission costs can be high, but even for floor traders, is it possible anymore to make money doing these spreads? If so, can someone provide a recent real world example?

Moreover, what do the professional guys at the CBOE really do? Are they doing spreads and adjusting their delta constantly? It seems like to make big money down there, they aren't doing directional bets? Or are they premium sellers? Like I said I have zero practical experience so just curious as to what these guys are really doing to earn? How can someone get an in with a small trading group down there to learn?

How else can I learn more about the practical side of option strategies vs just reading them in a book?

jerseyjim likes this.
  2. Maverick74

Maverick74