Bottoms up !!

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by Babak, Dec 29, 2002.

1. Babak

Babak

I've tried to reproduce the data/graphs mentioned in the following article:

http://www.zealllc.com/2002/vola.htm

The basic definition of 'volatility' as used in the article is (High-Low) divided by Yesterday's Close. Then this raw data is smoothed using a simple 25 day moving average.

Seems simple right? But somehow I don't get the same result. Not even close! But I think I've done the spreadsheet correctly (see below).
    :confused:
    I would appreciate if anyone would take a look at this and maybe find what I've missed or done incorrectly. Thanks in advance.

btw...I truncated the data as it would have been too big to upload.

2. Babak

Babak

111 views....19 downloads of the Excel file and no comments?

:confused:

3. Well one thing I can tell you is that I have been saying this same thing for about 18 months...

"As I have written in countless past essays on these chaotic markets, supercycle bubble busts always, 100% of the time, ultimately sweep stocks far down to pitiful valuations based on P/E multiples of well under historical fair value, which is 13.5x earnings."

When I said I was using P/E to help pick stocks ripe for shorts, this is exactly what I meant.

Babak what part of the article talks about the volatility calculation? The reason I ask is that you say "basically", which leads me to believe you interpet it to be so... maybe the error is there. The excel code looks accurate otherwise.

:)

Edit: found it...

4. Okay got it. Geez man it's 1:00 am. What the heck am I doing up figuring this out?