Bonds risks and margin

Discussion in 'Fixed Income' started by salamanderforex, Sep 17, 2020.

1. Hi Bond Gurus,

I am new to bonds and need to understand few things from you bond gurus please:

1- Can I buy bond on margin?

2- I have a margin account. Can I utilize my holdings of bonds for margin so I can trade other things or would my money get locked in bond? (i.e. If I buy Amazon stock I can utilize my investment to buy other shares with margin of that...are bonds the same in that aspect?)

3- Who really buys bonds? Is the ultra rich who can't park their money in savings account or everyone? How can someone with small capital take advantage of buying bonds?

4- What are the exact risks with holding bonds? please provide a $ amount example and cycle of what may happen.

5- What are the benefits of buying bonds? At what time or a situation can one expect to make a profit?

Thanks,

2. xandman

xandman

Not a bond guru by any means but these questions look simple enough.

1- yes

2 - yes, yes, yes

3- Everyone. Buy bond ETFs for diversification.

4 - Duration risks will affect the bond value when interest rates change. $100 bond, Duration is 5 years. For every 1% that interest rates go up, you loose 5%. For every 1% rates go down, the bond value goes up 5%. (Approximately). Credit risks could affect the valuation of the bond by virtue of the Yield-to-Market pricing which is the yield demanded by buyers and sellers.

5- Bonds are a promise to pay you a fixed return until the principal is returned. Stocks are about hopes and dreams. There is no promise to pay you a share of earnings. Earnings is typically retained in the company to fund additional growth.

Last edited: Sep 19, 2020
    .sigma likes this.
  3. Nicely articulated. That was really insightful, thanks!

4. bone

bone

It's a ridiculous deep dive, but if you are serious I would recommend:

The Handbook of Fixed Income Securities, 6th Edition
    Book by Frank J. Fabozzi