Bollinger Bands

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by Spxdes, Jan 27, 2007.

1. Spxdes

Spxdes

I would like to discuss the use of bollinger bands as a great way of helping one read price action. There is no need for any other indicator to base trading decisions. The bands tell you everything...trend, range, volatility, support/resistance, chop, etc.

The chart attached shows a 5 min chart of DE for the last three days.

2. Spxdes

Spxdes

Now here is the same chart with descriptions.

The idea is simple. If price breaks the outer bands, it should be considered strong in that direction. What happens next? Does it continue in that direction? Does it come back in and break the middle line? Does it find support/resistance at the opposite outer band? These answers can give you a good idea of what price is doing and what it might do next.

3. Spxdes

Spxdes

By the way, I apologize for my sloppy charts. This is the first time I have done this and I am not an expert in microsoft paint by any means.

4. Lorenzo

Lorenzo

I don't like BB

I found them almost useless

I prefer ADX / DM+ DM- to measure volatility

Besides, Pivot Points & Fibonacci Golden Ratios are the way to go for successful daytrading

But it's my opinion of course

5. Spxdes

Spxdes

I also like pivot points and think they are a perfect addition to bollinger bands.

I just wanted to suggest a simple way of trading or gaining a better understanding of what price is doing.

I have looked at the ADX/DMI a lot and hate it. I find the ADX to be pointless. Simply looking at a chart can tell you if there is a trend or not.

Just my opinion though....