BOJ QE going to 0 rate again, JPY goes stronger?

Discussion in 'Forex' started by mizhael, Oct 6, 2010.

1. Does it make sense?

BOJ went back to 0 rate again,

but JPY was appreciating against USD?

2. No, it does not make sense from strict interest rate perspective. But you have not asked yourself if Japan lowering it's short rate by 10bp actually makes any difference.

There are other reasons why the Yen is strengthening.

The answers are all over the Web and easy to find.

Come on, Miz...do some work on your own!

Edit: OK, dude, let me give you a hand so you won't be constantly starting these basic threads. Buy yourself a copy of the following book:

http://www.amazon.com/Money-Financi...6703/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1286415370&sr=8-1

3. Come on! Why don't you directly say what the other reasons are?

I am a newbie of course my threads are basic.

But the Silver readings you gave me weren't indepth analysis either...

4. Let me be brutally honest with you.

You are operating in this business without the slightest bit of necessary background in basic financial concepts. Seems like you have been posting here and on Wilmott for a few years now and yet you still are asking questions about stuff that a person who has spent only a few months in the business would know cold. As a yardstick, we just hired a guy six months ago with no financial background (a computer science guy, btw) and he can now talk extemporaneously on the subject of BOJ operations for 15 minutes (if I let him).

This is the best advice you will get: buy yourself a bunch of books on basic finance, economics, statistics, etc and just read them cover to cover (more than once). Then, and only then, come back to the markets. It is clear that you just don't have the basic tools necessary to even start to get involved in the game.