Bloomberg terminal?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by heech, Jan 13, 2011.

1. heech

heech

Just curious if anyone has any insights on if, or when, a Bloomberg terminal might make sense as a tool.

From a research point of view, I'm currently using very generic *retail* tools like OptionVue... and just using whatever trading front-end to keep a view on markets (IB, Rithmic's R|API, etc...). I have no experience with Bloomberg or other "professional" tools, so don't know what I'm missing out on by not having one around.

What's the bare minimum startup cost? What capabilities, other than research, might a Bloomberg terminal offer me?

2. It depends on what and how you trade.

3. heech

heech

My strategy is engaged in volatility arbitrage across any number of asset classes/commodity types... so being able to look at realized/implied volatility (historical + forward curves) for random futures would be helpful. Actual positions are traded on an automated basis, so I wouldn't need Bloomberg for actual trade placing... just to determine whether I should turn on my code or not.

I'm currently just using online charts to look at CME VIX-type indices, and OptionVue to get a longer-term view of historical IV for various futures. None of these tools are really very "sophisticated", and I'm wondering if Bloomberg will be much better.

4. its over $25,000 a year, a big expense for an individual trader regardless of size.

5. Bloomberg isn't necessarily better... It just aggregates everything in one place, as well as serves as a communication platform (so useful if you trade OTC). It's costly.

6. heech

heech

Can you fill me in on how it functions for OTC communications?

Say, for example, I'm looking for a quote on (example) variance swap for crude oil. How would I proceed?