Blew up 2 accounts: Need input

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by DarioC, Sep 20, 2005.

1. DarioC

DarioC

I started out with $2300 in '99 and got my account up to 68k in 6 months before I blew it up (I got out when I was down to 8k).

:confused:

I had a similar experience in 2003. Started out with 15k and got the account to slightly over 100k in 4 months before I blew it up (got out with slightly less than my original 15k).

:mad:

Primarily I had been trading options (equities). I had more losses than wins on a trade by trade basis, made bigger trades on smaller risk, smaller trades on bigger risk, but the wins tended to be 10-20 x investment, 1:4 win ratio, so the averages got me higher. I think part of my problem is discipline, my other problem is that I tend to generate great ideas for trades, but can't really 'read the tape': Both times sector and market downturns accompanied the explosions coming out of my account and I didn't see them.

SO: I am ready to give this a last shot, :D but I want to do it right. I think I need some experience. I am looking at getting on as a proprietary trader in NYC somewhere, either in equities or in Forex.

Background: B2B technology sales (I really hate it, but it makes 150k a year), BA Economics, BA Romance languages from a top 25 school, fluent in French and Italian, not such a good academic record (was busy blowing up my account in '99 and working 40 hour weeks in a regular job). I am 32 and can afford to live on zero cash for a while (but I wouldn't have enough to not get paid for a year AND have enough to start trading for myself after not having been paid for a year).