BitMEX

Discussion in 'Crypto Assets' started by King Sisyphus, Jul 11, 2019.

1. Quick question for those that have experience with BitMEX.

I'm a professional trader (futures mainly) and have been experimenting with a bit of money on their platform. Nothing huge, only $100k clips.

I have to say I'm really not impressed so far.

Just tried to get long at 11477.5 for what I predict to be the start of the next leg up, and the entire platform locked up. Web UI froze, the TradingView charts froze...

When the UI eventually unfroze I tried to cross the spread with a marketable limit order. This was rejected due to a "system overload".

I've read a lot of the commentary online about ShitMEX (as it appears to be known) and these lockups appear to be a regular occurance at key levels.

Would be grateful for any thoughts from others with more experience on the crypto platforms than myself. Is BitMEX really a waste of time for pros?

Last edited: Jul 11, 2019
  2. Not a waste of time if you're arbing or exclusively resting limit orders, the fees on market orders are quite high though. You can also set up a Bitmex connection with TT, that won't get around the system lockup issues but being able to use the DOM and build custom spreads puts you ahead of a lot of the 'customers' on Bitmex.

I'm no professional crypto trader but I would be quoting many levels deep on bitmex and be monitoring/hedging on other high volume exchanges to keep a handle on whatever is happening during a bitmex freeze event. I wonder if you could use bitmex freezes as a momentum indicator to trade on other venues...

patrickrooney likes this.
  3. Thanks for the insight. I'm not really interested in arbing/spreading. IMHO the real money is in directional plays, and the structure in XBT market behaviour is honestly the easiest to read I have ever seen. It's almost like clockwork.