Binary options

Discussion in 'Options' started by newbietrader100, Feb 11, 2011.

1. I am new at this and have very little funds approximately 500 dollars. I hear you can make a fair amount of money with binary options. Does anyone know anything that I should know before taking this risk? Also are there any noteable brokers to use for binary? Also how much money can I expect to make? and lastly is binary risky and what should I know to excute successfully?

2. Binary options to me are not exactly the best way to make money unless you're dead certain an index will close above or below a certain strike price. Moreover, the lack of liquidity means you get some (what I believe) supbar pricing on those options. With exchange traded binaries (I'm referring to the BVZ which CBOE markets) you also get a fixed payout which means if the index blows past your strike you still only get the same capped upside amount ($100).

Thinkorswim used to offer binaries but since there was a significant lack of interest they no longer support them. You could call up a few brokerage firms (interactive brokers comes to mind) who probably offer them.

Unfortunately given your EXTREMELY limited capital I would argue you should hold back a bit and learn some more about options. Plus no brokerage firm is interested in you if you bring a whopping $500. Multiply that amount by 10 if you even want to get started in options trading. With that capital size your best bet is to have some tight stops and learn about FX trading.

3. Yes it's definitely a good idea to be aware of the risks involved in binary options trading. It is important to note that they are all or nothing propositions - basically you either win or lose.

There is some useful information on the link below. In answer to your question Nadex are an example of exchange traded derivatives exchange.

http://www.nadex.com/trade/binary-options.html

4. kayakfly

kayakfly