Bid volume Ask volume ratio

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Mononoke, May 13, 2010.

1. Mononoke

Mononoke

Is the bid volume ask volume ratio good indicator for entering the market.

2. Ever hear of iceberg and hidden and renewing orders, and dark pools?

3. Mononoke

Mononoke

Thanks, Can you be specific. I'm a total newbie:D

4. I was hoping that someone more knowledgeable than me would reply. But on ET, you ask a stupid question, you get a stupid person to answer. The inside market, and the deeper market, do not truly reflect demand from at least three kinds of orders: totally hidden (no size at all showing), iceberg (some size showing, some size hidden), and autorefresh, typically one futures contract or 100 stock shares, which regenerates every time it is hit until cancelled. There are probably other hidden order types I don't know about. So there is no way you can be sure what the book really looks like, and hence any relative size data is meaningless. Re dark pools, a significant percentage of large stock trades are transacted off the exchanges, further clouding real demand. Complicating this is that big players routinely enter large orders they have no intention of leaving there to be filled, they're just painting the book. To see this at work, watch time and sales and the inside market and see if you can make any fucking sense of it. I can't. Also there is a popular misconception that market orders melt away the inside market limit orders until the bid/ask changes. That is total bullshit. The big players allow the inside market to change only when they want it to. My betters will now no doubt correct me.

5. Who are the big players you are referring to?

What do you mean by "painting the books"?

6. For my limited experience with it, price is attracted to where the ratio is higher, its counter-intuitive. Try asking your question over at TradersLaboratory where its more volume friendly.