Bid/Offer vs. ?

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by tenfly, Jan 16, 2004.

1. tenfly

tenfly

I have an odd question..

I started trading in an odd environment where Bid/Offer was the way. Maybe it was the stock I was trading. I dunno. But I've been reading in another post that bid/offer is a dumb strategy. I guess it's all a matter of opinion.

But..I ask..What is the opposite of the bid/offer strategy?

2. Turok

Turok

I assume it would be called the hit/lift strategy but I would hardly call either of them a "strategy".

Of course if I misunderstand you I am not knowing.

JB

3. tenfly

tenfly

So hit/lift, is that basically punching in and out of a trade and not waiting to be hit on the bid or offer?

Maybe strategy is the wrong word as well..Maybe methodology?

4. Momento

Momento

there is no opposite to a Bid / Offer strategy...
    the other way around would be simply giving up spreads?!

:confused:

you can trade on momentum, lifting an offer while offering back higher... but what is your question again?

5. tenfly

tenfly

I don't really know my question lol

Simply, I've seen people posting "Bid/Offer" is a dumb way to trade blah blah blah..I guess my question is, if bidding and offering is so dumb, then what is the er..un-dumb way of doing it (according to them)..

Maybe I should ask them lol..

6. Turok

Turok

>So hit/lift, is that basically punching in and out
    >of a trade and not waiting to be hit on the
    >bid or offer?

Yes, I would hit your bid or lift your offer if I was on the other side of your trade and you were using the bid/offer strategy/methodology.

JB

7. nitro

nitro

There is no dumb strategy, only dumb strategies on a given symbol.

Generally, in fast daytradring momentum environments like most equity trading, you will hear that you don't want to offer stock or bid for the stock at or inside the B/O. It is "ok" to bid or offer stock outside the B/O if you are playing tradethroughs.