bid-ask spreads on options

Discussion in 'Options' started by cstangor, May 1, 2007.

1. cstangor

cstangor

I'm a futures trader, but am getting interested in trading option spreads. But the bid-ask differentials are huge! For instance, up to 20 percent of the cost of the combo spread price. How do you guys deal with that? Are there some tricks to learn?

Thanks

2. leonnis

leonnis

3. opt789

opt789

What underlying are you talking about? Some stocks and indices have much better option spreads than others. The simple rule when trading options applies to large bid/ask spreads as well: don't trade options unless you know a lot about them.

If you understand options and have a good idea of current theoretical value of the spread you want to trade you can put your order out at a reasonable price and get filled. This one time (at band camp, j.k.) I received a quote $1 bid at $2 from the floor on a large SPX spread, which seems ridiculous but I knew it was worth about 1.55 so I put in an order to sell it at 1.40 and got filled. In order to trade options you need to understand them, how to properly value them, and know your enemy (the market makers). All that said, you're right, option bid/ask spreads generally suck so you can't effectively "trade" them.

4. You can always try for a price inside the bid-ask spread. I was trying to sell an option the other day that was .40x4.40, but when I put in an offer for 3.40, the bid jumped to 3.00. I eventually got filled at 3.20.

5. asap

asap

always trade at mid spread, avoid multi leg strategies and less liquid options. in the end, overcoming a 20% b/a spread on the long run is like paying 20% of your net transaction balance to someone else and that's a lot of negative burden on your side, especially after you've made several thousand trades.

6. cstangor

cstangor

I thought that SPY would be a pretty liquid underlying. Are there stocks whose options are even more liquid than SPY?