bid ask spread

Discussion in 'Options' started by johnson232, Jan 14, 2009.

1. I am fairly new to spread trading and very often I find myself avoiding stocks which have wide bid/ask spreads. What about just excercising the option and selling or buying the stock.

2. MTE

MTE

When you exercise you lose any remaining time value so if it's greater than the bid/ask spread then you should not do it. Also take into account any exercise fees and commissions to close out the stock position.

3. You almost NEVER want to exercise an option.

Click here for details:
    http://blog.mdwoptions.com/options_for_rookies/2008/11/exercising-an-option-is-it-a-good-idea.html

Here's something crucial. Do not enter or exit a spread trade by trading the individual options (unless you want added risk in an attempt to generate extra profits).

Enter an order to buy or sell the SPREAD, not the individual options. You will find that you don't have to pay as high as the ask price nor sell as low as the bid price when you enter a spred order. You can expect to be filled near the midpoint between the bid/ask prices for the spread. Not the midpoint - you will have to give up a few nickels - but 'near' the midpoint.

Mark
    The Rookies Guide to Options

4. dmo

dmo

Right. And you also lose any POTENTIAL time value - such as you might get if the underlying moves back toward the strike. So even if there is no time value remaining, it's still not obvious that you want to early exercise.

5. donnap

donnap

:confused: If there's no time value and the option is OTM, then there's no reason to exercise.

If the option is ITM and there's no time value or as MTE put it - the time value is less than slippage - then you may consider early exercise to close. YOU would not want the underlying to move toward the strike in this case.

6. dmo

dmo