Better to Keep Quiet

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by FaderTrader, Apr 29, 2006.

1. So, when hanging out with some aquaintences this evening, the convo inevitably turns to what everyone does for a living.

I told them that I trade and then it began. Everyone who is not a participant in the markets not only seems to have a strong opinion about things (based on no information), but also no clue about the structure and movement of the market.

It always ends badly because it's hard to explain how stocks move in the short term and how leverage works in daytrading, etc.

From now on, I'm just going to respond with, "I work in finance." They'll likely assume I'm toady in a cubicle and I'll be off the hook at that point.

Anyone have similar experiences?

2. napa

napa

Oh, yes, all the time. And I happen to live in nearly communist country where trading is regarded almost as bad as dealing drugs. If i admit trading options all hell breaks lose... oh my those ignorant peasants...

So i end up lying that i do someting utterly boring.

3. mg_mg

mg_mg

4. jerryz

jerryz

nobody respects personal trading unless you have actually become a millionaire doing it. even then they will most likely just be envious and think you got lucky.

5. ======================
    F-Trader;

Yes, dont confuse them with your timeframes, structure.:cool:

Usually say its MSFT related, that way you will never have to go into ''finance '' details;
    & some will persist on MSFT details.

Then I say its computer related :cool: & stop talking there. Actually Mom got so curious,
    gave her a copy of Active Trader Magazine;
    said a lot of its in their , MOM.

sfo magazine could be used for that also.

6. Thanks for all these responses. I think a lot of the confusion flows from the fact that most people have had some interaction with the market at one time or another and they project that experience out to assume they have intimate knowledge.