Best way to start career?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by 892king, Sep 26, 2008.

1. 892king

892king

Hey, I'm an undergraduate student who is very into stocks. Currently, I'm playing poker to pay my tuition, but I'm not going to be a professional poker player and I've always thought that I'll work at financial industry... One good thing is that I heard poker and trading are very similar in some ways. Anyway, what I want to know is how to acquire necessary knowledges. Is there any recommendable book? I got 20K to put initially, btw...
    Thank you...

2. 0. Finish school.
    1. Finish reading the trading books you started, then stop reading.
    2. Watch the markets, find your instruments, find your system.
    3. Get a job and save one year of living expenses plus vacation and fun stuff.
    4. Watch the markets, find your instruments, find your system.
    5. Paper trade.
    6. Watch the markets, find your instruments, find your system.
    7. Trade cash VERY small and VERY conservative to make $25 per day.
    8. Conquer emotions in trading.
    9. Make $50 per day.
    10. Make $75 per day.
    11. Make $100 per day, etc.

3. gnome

gnome

Suck Bernanke's dick for inside info!

(Whoa, my rage is getting out of hand... apologies to all..)

4. JCVR

JCVR

Well you only have two options really:

1) Open an account, immerse yourself in the market and see if you amke money.

2) Get a job in finance, learn the ropes from the inside out and then decide if you still want to go out on your own.

Personally I think that learning how the market works from within an institution is important. In the end they are going to be your competition as an independent trader and I think that having an understanding of how they operate is helpful. Then again if you can succeed right off the bat thats great.

5. cipher4d

cipher4d

GermanTrader seemed to outline the most low risk and low stress approach... Cheers!