best way to get started programming?

Discussion in 'App Development' started by dividend, Sep 29, 2013.

1. Hello

I'm pretty new to automated trading

What is the best way to get started?

For example, if someone wanted to learn how to program in C, you might recommend they create a virtual machine, put Linux on it, install the developer tools, and start with a printf("hello world"); and that's how they can code their first sample program

This is a good recommendation because it does not have any major costs up front to learn.

What is the recommended way to do this with trading? Assuming I have decent Linux knowledge and a little bit of C programming experience... Looking for the path of lowest upfront costs and "best" "coding language" to learn...

Thanks

2. slacker

slacker

Computing for Data Analysis good intro to R.

free course just started this week on coursera.org

Also -- Computational Investing I covers the basics of Python to download and harvest web data. Not a bad start.

Hard work however.... But since you asked.

Good luck

3. vicirek

vicirek

start from the beginning; do broker search, platform search, feed search DMA search and check what technologies are available to hook up to markets then research those and choose one that suits you best.

4. Very easy answer. As crappy as it is once you get into the details, NinjaTrader likely is the lowest cost start - hard to beat 0.

From there you can go various ways, but even if Ninja turns sour on you fast (it did to me) the reasons will show you waht to look for and by then you have written some throw away code and got some basics.

From there you really have harder decisions to make - the hardest one is data. Without data you can not program and test strategies, and good data, over time, costs. Serious money.

5. If you're not 10 years old with a keen interest in programming computers then you'll never really learn .